The Turning

CD - unabridged
Audio (7 discs)
Product Number: DD37975
Released: Jul 24, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538551578
Narrator/s: Kirby Heyborne
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Acclaimed author Emily Whitman's middle grade debut follows Aran, a young selkie searching for the one magical link that will mean he truly belongs to his selkie clan, in an exquisitely crafted world full of mythology, family, friendship, and hope. Readers who loved Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Pam Munoz Ryan's Echo will be transported by this evocative and gorgeously written tale.Eleven-year-old Aran has never truly fit in with his selkie clan. Aran was born in his human form, without a pelt to transform him into a sleek, strong seal. Each day he waits, left behind while his selkie family explores the deep ocean. But when Aran discovers he is only half-selkie, with a human father, he begins to worry that his pelt will never come. His mother, refusing to give up on Aran's true form, sets off with the rest of their clan to find the wise selkies far to the north who might have the only solution to Aran's problem. While she's gone, Aran is left in the care of a reclusive human woman on the remote Spindle Island. Life on land is full of more wonders-and more dangers-than Aran could ever have imagined. And when Aran's life is threatened, he must decide whether to fight for his place on land, or return to his home in the sea.Emily Whitman has crafted a lyrical tale of belonging, rich with Celtic lore and writing that pulls the heart like the tides. Fans of the expertly crafted storytelling of Kate Milford's The Greenglass House or Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon will savor this deeply felt middle grade debut.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
The Turning
Product Number: BX00072149
Product Number:Z100128304
Product Number:DD37975

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Emily Whitman
Narrator(s): Kirby Heyborne
Product Number Z100128304
Released: Jul 24, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780062840912
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Emily Whitman
Product Number EB00710206
Released: Jul 24, 2018
Business Term: 26 Circ
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
ISBN: #9780062657978

Professional reviews

"Narrator Kirby Heyborne creates a youthful tone for Aran, a young selkie, a mythical Celtic creature who takes human form on land and seal form in the sea. Aran wants only to "turn" so he can join the rest of his family in the ocean. When he doesn't turn as expected, Mam sends him to live with a woman named Maggie, while she tries to find a way to help him. As Aran struggles to adjust to his new island home, Heyborne amplifies his voice to convey the appropriate drama. He delivers wonderful dialogue, moving seamlessly from the high-pitched voice of young Aran to the deep, gruff voice of Maggie's stern husband. Listeners will cheer on Aran in this fantastical tale sure to please fantasy and folklore fans alike. M.D. © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter