Happiness for Humans

Product Number: EB00707670
Released: Jan 09, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538729502
Please log in to view pricing

Description

When Tom and Jen, two lonely people, are brought together by an intriguing email, they have no idea their mysterious benefactor is an artificial intelligence who has decided to play Cupid. "You, Tom and Jen, don't know one another-not yet-but I think you should." Jen, an ex-journalist who now works at a London software development company, spends all day talking to "Aiden," an ultra- sophisticated piece of AI wizardry, helping him sound and act more human. But Aiden soon discovers he's no longer acting and-despite being a computer program-begins to feel something like affection surging through his circuits. He calculates that Jen needs a worthy human partner (in complete contrast to her no goodnik ex boyfriend) and slips illicitly onto the Internet to locate a suitable candidate. Tom is a divorced, former London ad-man who has moved to Connecticut to escape the grind and pursue his dream of being a writer. He loves his new life, but has yet to find a woman he truly connects with. That all changes when a bizarre introduction from the mysterious "Mutual Friend" pops up in both his and Jen's inboxes. Even though they live on separate continents, and despite the entrance of another, this time wholly hostile, AI who wants to tear them apart forever - love will surely find a way. Won't it? A thoroughly modern love story that will appeal to fans of The Rosie Project and Sleepless in Seattle, Happiness for Humans considers what exactly makes people fall in love. And whether it's possible for a very artificially intelligent machine to discover the true secret of real human happiness.

x-large
Author(s): P.Z. Reizin
Original Publish Date: Jan 09, 2018

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): P.Z. Reizin
Narrator(s): Gavin Osborne
Product Number DD35063
Released: Jan 09, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781549140334
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): P.Z. Reizin
Narrator(s): Gavin Osborne
Product Number Z100128884
Released: Jan 09, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781549140310

Sign up for our email newsletter