Roar

Product Number: EB00734558
Released: Apr 16, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538732588
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From the bestselling author of P.S., I Love You, a fiercely feminist story collection that blends fables with magical realism-perfect for fans of Roxane Gay. In this singular and imaginative story collection, Cecelia Ahern illuminates the myriad ways in which women overcome adversity with wit, resourcefulness and compassion. Exploring dilemmas and aspirations that women everywhere will relate to, these unforgettable tales blend magical realism and familiar scenarios with startling and often hilarious results. In matters ranging from marriage and childrearing to politics and career, the heroines of these thought-provoking stories confront problems both mysterious and mundane: one woman is tortured by sinister bite marks that appear on her skin; another is swallowed up by the floor during a mortifying presentation; yet another resolves to return and exchange her boring husband at the store where she originally acquired him. As they wrestle with obstacles of all kinds, their reality is shaped by how others perceive them-and ultimately, how they perceive the power within themselves. By turns sly, whimsical and affecting, these 30 short stories are an inspiring examination of what it means to be a woman today.

x-large
Author(s): Cecelia Ahern
Original Publish Date: Apr 16, 2019

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Cecelia Ahern
Genre: Short Stories
Product Number DD43000
Released: Apr 16, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781549175480

Sign up for our email newsletter