The Great Jeff

x-large
Author(s): Tony Abbott
Original Publish Date: Mar 19, 2019
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (6.45 hours)
Product Number: Z100145422
Released: Mar 19, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781549123238
Narrator/s: Josh Hurley
Publisher: Hachette Book Group
Please log in to view pricing

Description

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times; color: #000000} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times; color: #000000; min-height: 16.0px} Perfect for fans of Gary D. Schmidt comes the companion to the modern classic Firegirl from acclaimed writer Tony Abbott. Life hasn't been great for Jeff Hicks. After years at his beloved St. Catherine's, he's forced to spend eighth grade in the public middle school, which he hates. He's no longer speaking to his former best friend, Tom Bender, because of "that burned girl" Jessica Feeney. But worst of all, his family is changing, and it's not for the better. When his mom comes home announcing that she's lost her job, Jeff begins to worry about things far beyond his years: How will they pay the rent? Will his absentee dad step up and save the day? Is his mom drinking too much? And ultimately, where will they live? The Great Jeff is a powerful look at the life of a troubled boy who finds his life spiraling out of control.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Tony Abbott
Narrator(s): Josh Hurley
Product Number DD42863
Released: Mar 19, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781549123245
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Tony Abbott
Product Number EB00729236
Released: Mar 19, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9780316479677

Professional reviews

"Narrator Josh Hurley creates an emotional voice for a middle school student who puts on a brave face at school but is actually struggling to stay afloat due to his tumultuous homelife. Jeff's mom has become increasingly dependent on alcohol. When she eventually loses her job, she's unable to pay the rent, and she and Jeff become homeless. As Jeff takes on adult responsibilities, Hurley's unsteady voice reflects his increasing stress level. Hurley also captures his hurt and anger when he tries to persuade his mom to reach out for help. Listeners will cheer Jeff on as he navigates these tough times. M.D. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter