Roar

x-large
Author(s): Cecelia Ahern
Genre: Short Stories
CD - unabridged
Audio (8 discs)
Product Number: DD43000
Released: Apr 16, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781549175480
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From the bestselling author of P.S., I Love You, a fiercely feminist story collection that blends fables with magical realism--perfect for fans of Roxane Gay. In this singular and imaginative story collection, Cecelia Ahern illuminates the myriad ways in which women overcome adversity with wit, resourcefulness and compassion. Exploring dilemmas and aspirations that women everywhere will relate to, these unforgettable tales blend magical realism and familiar scenarios with startling and often hilarious results. In matters ranging from marriage and childrearing to politics and career, the heroines of these thought-provoking stories confront problems both mysterious and mundane: one woman is tortured by sinister bite marks that appear on her skin; another is swallowed up by the floor during a mortifying presentation; yet another resolves to return and exchange her boring husband at the store where she originally acquired him. As they wrestle with obstacles of all kinds, their reality is shaped by how others perceive them--and ultimately, how they perceive the power within themselves. By turns sly, whimsical and affecting, these 30 short stories are an inspiring examination of what it means to be a woman today.

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Cecelia Ahern
Product Number Z100147744
Released: Apr 16, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Hachette Book Group
ISBN: #9781549179297
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Cecelia Ahern
Product Number EB00734558
Released: Apr 16, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781538732588

Professional reviews

"Three uniquely talented narrators--Aisling Bea, Lara Sawalha, and Adjoa Andoh--take listeners through 30 short stories featuring the many ways women show their compassionate and resourcefulness in a difficult world. Each story includes a bit of magical realism, plenty of wordplay, and an enjoyable drama that reveals the strength of women. The multiple narrators give listeners the variety of three distinctly different voices, all of which make listening to ROAR a joy from start to finish. The brief works allow for a quick listen at the end of the day or in one long session--as if meeting up with a group of female friends for a delightful conversation. V.B. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter