Second Violin

Author(s): John Lawton
Series: Inspector Troy Series No: 6
Original Publish Date: Sep 15, 2009
Product Number: EB00645677
Released: Mar 11, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781555848620
Publisher: Grove Atlantic
Please log in to view pricing


As London braces for WWII, a string of murdered rabbis draws Inspector Troy into a mystery that “sets pulses racing and the jaded responses tingling” (The Irish Times).
One of today’s top historical espionage writers, considered “as good as Le Carré” (Chicago Tribune) and “a master,” John Lawton adds another spellbinding thriller to his Inspector Troy series with Second Violin (Rocky Mountain News).
The sixth installment in the series, Lawton’s new novel opens in 1938 with Europe on the brink of war. In London, Frederick Troy, newly promoted to the prestigious murder squad at Scotland Yard, is put in charge of rounding up a list of German and Italian “enemy aliens” that also includes his brother, Rod, who learns upon receiving an internment letter that he was born in Austria despite having grown up in England. Hundreds of men are herded by train to a neglected camp on the Isle of Man. And as the bombs start falling on London, a murdered rabbi is found, then another, and another . . .
Amid great war, murder is what matters. Moving from the Nazi-infested alleys of prewar Vienna to the bombed-out streets of 1940 London, and featuring an extraordinary cast of characters, Lawton’s thriller is a suspenseful and intelligent novel, as good a spy story as it is an historical narrative.
“Smart and gracefully written.” —Patrick Anderson, The Washington Post

All formats/editions

Author(s): John Lawton
Narrator(s): Lewis Hancock
Product Number Z100131139
Released: May 08, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781538493700

Sign up for our email newsletter