23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism

Product Number: EB00637803
Released: Feb 23, 2016
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
ISBN: #9781608193585
Publisher: Bloomsbury Press
Please log in to view pricing

Description

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER"For anyone who wants to understand capitalism not as economists or politicians have pictured it but as it actually operates, this book will be invaluable."-Observer (UK) If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.

x-large
Author(s): Ha-Joon Chang
Original Publish Date: Jan 02, 2011

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Ha-Joon Chang
Narrator(s): Joe Barrett
Genre: Self Help
Product Number BN1331
Released: Jun 12, 2012
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
ISBN: #9781455883387

Sign up for our email newsletter