23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism

Product Number: EB00637803
Released: Feb 23, 2016
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
ISBN: #9781608193585
Publisher: Bloomsbury Press
Please log in to view pricing

Description

-Thing 1: There is no such thing as free market. -Thing 4: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet. -Thing 5: Assume the worst about people, and you get the worst. -Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer.If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.

x-large
Author(s): Ha-Joon Chang
Original Publish Date: Jan 02, 2011

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Ha-Joon Chang
Narrator(s): Joe Barrett
Genre: Self Help
Product Number BN1331
Released: Jun 12, 2012
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
ISBN: #9781455883387

Sign up for our email newsletter