The Limit

Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit
x-large
Author(s): Michael Cannell
Original Publish Date: Nov 07, 2011
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (8.30 hours)
Product Number: Z100020650
Released: Nov 07, 2011
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781611746242
Narrator/s: Fred Stella
Publisher: Highbridge Company
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell's high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars. Written with the pacing of a novel, The Limit pits Hill against his Ferrari teammate, German Count Wolfgang Von Trips, as they jockey for the top spot throughout the 1961 season, culminating in one of the deadliest races in Grand Prix history. The Limit captures a distinct moment when men the world over were driven to push the boundaries of the possible.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
The Limit
Product Number: BX00104568
Product Number:DD1335
Product Number:Z100020650

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Pub Library - US Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Pub Library - Canada Collection
RBdigital Unlimited Audio - Higher Ed - Curriculum - Platinum Collection

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Michael Cannell
Narrator(s): Fred Stella
Product Number DD1335
Released: Nov 07, 2011
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Highbridge Company
ISBN: #9781611746235
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Michael Cannell
Genre: Sports, History
Product Number EB00282503
Released: Apr 10, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Twelve
ISBN: #9781455506507

Professional reviews

"No international sport was as glamorous and dangerous as Formula 1 auto racing at mid-century, when teams from the major European countries competed for national pride and many racers crashed and died every year driving faster than "the limit." This is the colorful story of German Count Wolfgang von Trips and Californian Phil Hill, who approached racing from opposite perspectives and whose rivalry as drivers for Enzo Ferrari culminated in a 1961 championship race. Fred Stella's worldly sensibilities and ease with European languages bring Old World nostalgia to the traditions and culture that make this story so rewarding. His grasp of character will keep most listeners engaged not only with the contest but also with how these romantic figures play out their desires, fears, and attraction to such a deadly sport. T.W. (c) AudioFile 2012, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter