A Buddhist Grief Observed

Product Number: EB00634293
Released: Aug 09, 2016
Business Term: 1 Year
ISBN: #9781614293224
Publisher: Wisdom Publications
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps? "After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart." -Stephen Batchelor, author ofBuddhism without BeliefsandAfter Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis'sA Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world-from Dogen and the Dalai Lama, to Pema ChOdrOn and ancient Pali texts-this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one. "A sad, beautiful, and necessary book-and a map waiting for many who will need it." -James Ishmael Ford, author ofIf You're Lucky Your Heart Will Break "Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty-and extraordinary compassion." -Jay L. Garfield, author ofEngaging Buddhism

x-large
Author(s): Guy Newland
Original Publish Date: Aug 09, 2016

Sign up for our email newsletter