Great Fortune

The Epic of Rockefeller Center
eAudio - unabridged
Audio
Product Number: Z100154097
Released: Oct 31, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781618039903
Narrator/s: Christopher Grove
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In this hugely appealing book, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, acclaimed author and journalist Daniel Okrent weaves together themes of money, politics, art, architecture, business, and society to tell the story of the majestic suite of buildings that came to dominate the heart of midtown Manhattan and with it, for a time, the heart of the world. At the center of Okrent's riveting story are four remarkable individuals: tycoon John D. Rockefeller, his ambitious son Nelson Rockefeller, real estate genius John R. Todd, and visionary skyscraper architect Raymond Hood. In the tradition of David McCullough's The Great Bridge, Ron Chernow's Titan, and Robert Caro's The Power Broker, Great Fortune is a stunning tribute to an American landmark that captures the heart and spirit of New York at its apotheosis.

x-large
Author(s): Daniel Okrent
Original Publish Date: Oct 31, 2019

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Daniel Okrent
Product Number EB00706689
Released: Jul 18, 2017
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Penguin Books
ISBN: #9781101666906

Sign up for our email newsletter