Radio Crackling, Radio Gone

Author(s): Lisa Olstein
Genre: Poetry
Original Publish Date: Dec 11, 2012
Product Number: EB00660621
Released: Mar 11, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781619320536
Publisher: Copper Canyon Press
Please log in to view pricing


Winner of the Hayden Carruth Award Radio Crackling, Radio Gone is a debut collection of poetry that explores multiple logics of perception, association, and interpretation. Navigating the edges where things begin to disappear, the poems inhabit border zones of transformation where memory slides into imagination, wakefulness meets sleep, and things possessed become lost. What seemed a mystery was in fact a choice. Insert bird for sorrow. What seemed a memory was in fact a dividing line. Insert bird for wind. Insert wind for departure when everyone is standing still. . . Radio Crackling, Radio Gone was selected from the 1,200 submissions to the Hayden Carruth Award. By the time the anonymous manuscript was chosen as winner, the cover sheet was filled with readers' commentary: "stunning" and "lovely" and a bold "YES!"

Sign up for our email newsletter