A Slant of Light

Product Number: EB00636950
Released: Feb 23, 2016
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
ISBN: #9781620404973
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Please log in to view pricing

Description

For fans of The Orchardist and The Cove and from the author of bestselling In the Fall, an epic historical novel that fearlessly addresses the largest questions of love, justice, and how to live."Wonderfully entertaining, deeply moving, beautifully written...?n my estimation, Jeffrey Lent is our most American writer since Mark Twain and one of the two of three best novelists of our time."-Howard Frank MosherAt the close of the Civil War, weary veteran Malcolm Hopeton returns to his home in western New York State to find his wife and hired man missing and his farm in disrepair. A double murder ensues, the repercussions of which ripple through a community with spiritual roots in the Second Great Awakening. Hopeton has gone from the horrors of war to those far worse, and arrayed around him are a host of other people struggling to make sense of his crime. Among them is Enoch Stone, the lawyer for the community, whose spiritual dedication is subverted by his lust for power; August Swartout, whose wife has left earthly time and whose eye is set on eternity; and a boy who must straddle two worlds as he finds his own truth and strength. Always there is love and the memory of love-as haunting as the American Eden that Jeffrey Lent has so exquisitely rendered in this unforgettable novel. A Slant of Light is a novel of earthly pleasure and deep love, of loss and war, of prophets and followers, of theft and revenge, in an American moment where a seemingly golden age has been shattered. This is Jeffrey Lent on his home ground and at the height of his powers.

x-large
Author(s): Jeffrey Lent
Original Publish Date: Apr 07, 2015

Sign up for our email newsletter