Hostage Taker

A Novel
x-large
Author(s): Stefanie Pintoff
Series: Eve Rossi Series No: 1
CD - unabridged
Audio (9 discs)
Product Number: DD17544
Released: Aug 18, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781622319688
Narrator/s: Tanya Eby
Publisher: HighBridge Company
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From Edgar Award winner Stefanie Pintoff comes the start of an electrifying new thriller series featuring Eve Rossi, head of a secret division of the FBI-one made up of ex-convicts with extraordinary talents, oversized egos, and contempt for the rules. Perfect for readers of Iris Johansen and Catherine Coulter. Terror Strikes an Iconic Church-And Brings a City To Its Knees. In the hushed quiet of early morning Manhattan, in front of the towering brass doors of Saint Patrick's Cathedral, a young woman holds a sign that reads: Help Me. For one FBI agent, a madman's terrified hostages, and an entire city, a long and harrowing day is about to unfold. The hostage taker's identity is unknown. But he knows who FBI agent Eve Rossi is-and everything about her past. Along with her presence, he demands five witnesses: ordinary people with some hidden connection. Defying her superiors, Eve begins a deadly dance with an adversary whose intentions are surely sinister, whose endgame is anything but certain, and whose cunning keeps him one step ahead at every turn. As Eve manages a taut hostage situation, she relies on the combined skills of her team-a secret unit inspired by France's most notorious criminal and made up of ex-convicts with extraordinary talents, oversized egos, and contempt for the rules. Eve is up against a rapidly ticking clock. But the dangerous man calling the shots has a timetable of his own-and a searing question for his targets: What are you guilty of? As shocking revelations surface, so does another crisis nobody could anticipate-one not even Eve and her team may be able to stop.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Hostage Taker
Product Number: BX00103884
Product Number:DD17544
Product Number:Z100015347

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Stefanie Pintoff
Narrator(s): Tanya Eby
Series:
Product Number Z100015347
Released: Aug 18, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Highbridge Company
ISBN: #9781622319695
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Stefanie Pintoff
Series:
Product Number EB00592478
Released: Aug 18, 2015
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Bantam
ISBN: #9780804179935

Professional reviews

"Pintoff's cracking New York City thriller has tricks and clues and traps for the unwary as well as a new protagonist and a new cast of larger-than-life characters. A hostage taker holds an unknown number of victims inside St. Patrick's Cathedral, threatening to kill them and destroy the church. Tanya Eby is a strong narrator. Her intimate, slightly breathy alto conveys the tension of the story as it unfolds. Her dialogue voices are distinct without being distracting. And her pacing is a little fast (as befits the New York setting) but always consistent. Unlike Pintoff's earlier thrillers, this story is contemporary, not historical. Her subject remains heartless Gotham, its victims and its heroes. F.C. © AudioFile 2015, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter