Athens

A Portrait of the City in Its Golden Age
Product Number: EB00614081
Released: Aug 04, 2015
Business Term: 52 Circ / 730 Day
ISBN: #9781627797856
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A lively and accessible history of Athens's rise to greatness, from one of the foremost classical historians. The definitive account of Athens in the age of Pericles, Christian Meier's gripping study begins with the Greek triumph over Persia at the Battle of Salamis, one of the most significant military victories in history. Meier shows how that victory decisively established Athens's military dominance in the Mediterranean and made possible its rise to preeminence in almost every field of human eavor-commerce, science, philosophy, art, architecture, and literature. Within seventy-five years, Athens had become the most original and innovative civilization the ancient world ever produced. With elegant narrative style, Meier traces the birth of democracy and the flourishing of Greek culture in the fifth century B.C., as well as Athens' slow decline and defeat in the Peloponnesian War. The great figures-from politicians and generals like Themistocles and Alcibiades to the philosophers Socrates and Plato-emerge as flesh-and-blood human beings, firmly rooted in their times and places. This is history in the tradition of Simon Schama and Barbara Tuchman-learned, accessible, and beautifully written.

x-large
Author(s): Christian Meier
Genre: History
Original Publish Date: Aug 04, 2015

Sign up for our email newsletter