The Greenwash Effect

Corporate Deception, Celebrity Environmentalists, and What Big Business Isn't Telling You about Their Green Products and Brands
Product Number: EB00748350
Released: Jan 11, 2019
Business Term: 1 Year
ISBN: #9781629140759
Publisher: Skyhorse
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Going green is the new black for big business. But how real is the climate-friendly revolution that's being advertised? Toyota would like us to think that Mother Nature drives a Prius, Ford wants us to "Join the Green Revolution," and McDonald's has painted its golden arches green. Facebook has even "friended" Greenpeace. All across the globe big corporations are spending big bucks trying to convince us that their policies, actions, and products are earth friendly. But are big brands and the celebrities endorsing them really as green as they claim? In The Greenwash Effect, Guy Pearse looks behind the corporate facade in the tradition of Fast Food Nation and No Logo-and what he finds will startle you. Nothing is sacred and no one is safe from scrutiny: not the World Wildlife Fund or Earth Hour, not Apple or Google, not Oprah or Leonardo DiCaprio. The Greenwash Effect is an entertaining and practical book that helps consumers to pick the truly green businesses from the greenwashers and to demand a higher environmental standard from all.

x-large
Author(s): Guy Pearce
Original Publish Date: Aug 05, 2014

Sign up for our email newsletter