Visible City

CD - unabridged
Audio (7 discs)
Product Number: DD11699
Released: Mar 18, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781629233390
Narrator/s: Tavia Gilbert
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Allegra Goodman, an intimate and provocative novel about three couples whose paths intersect in their New York City neighborhood, forcing them all to weigh the comfort of stability against the costs of change. Nina is a harried young mother who spends her evenings spying on the older couple across the street through her son's Fisher-Price binoculars. She is drawn to their quiet contentment-reading on the couch, massaging each other's feet-so unlike her own lonely, chaotic world of nursing and soothing and simply getting by. One night, through that same window, she spies a young couple in the throes of passion. Who are these people, and what happened to her symbol of domestic bliss? In the coming weeks, Nina encounters the older couple, Leon and Claudia, their daughter Emma and her fiancE, and many others on the streets of her Upper West Side neighborhood, eroding the safe distance of her secret vigils. Soon anonymity gives way to different-and sometimes dangerous-forms of intimacy, and Nina and her neighbors each begin to question their own paths. With enormous empathy and a keen observational eye, Tova Mirvis introduces a constellation of characters we all know: twenty-somethings unsure about commitments they haven't yet made; thirty-somethings unsure about the ones they have; and sixty-somethings whose empty nest causes all sorts of doubt. Visible City invites us to examine those all-important forks in the road, and the conflict between desire and loyalty. "

x-large
Author(s): Tova Mirvis

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Tova Mirvis
Narrator(s): Tavia Gilbert
Product Number Z100101264
Released: Aug 10, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781629233413
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Tova Mirvis
Product Number EB00055244
Released: Mar 18, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Mariner Books
ISBN: #9780544045545

Sign up for our email newsletter