The Symphony

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (18.18 hours)
Product Number: Z100016866
Released: Oct 14, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781682763957
Narrator/s: Robert Greenberg
Please log in to view pricing


This course covers the great symphonies of Haydn, Mozart, Schubert, Beethoven, Berlioz, to Copeland and Shostakovich in the 20th century are vividly described by Greenberg. Attention is also given to the development of the symphony as a genre since the 17th century.

All formats/editions

Author(s): Robert Greenberg
Narrator(s): Robert Greenberg
Product Number GV0312
Released: Aug 03, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781490689968

Professional reviews

"Professor Robert Greenberg leaps and bounds through this comprehensive study of the structure and development of compositions identified as symphonies. As Greenberg discusses each composer or musical feature, he illustrates his lectures with orchestral recordings. From the first lecture, the listener is struck by Greenberg's energy and enthusiasm for his subject matter. We hear not only the music under discussion, but the professor's performing skill as he takes on the personae of those participating in its creation. His characters speak with modern-day speech patterns and with emotions appropriate to the subjects at hand. These lectures educate by making us think and making us laugh, always a winning combination. R.P.L. (c) AudioFile 2004, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter