Finding Again the World

Selected Stories
Author(s): John Metcalf
Series: reSet
Original Publish Date: Oct 16, 2018
Product Number: EB00768630
Released: Sep 24, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781771962537
Publisher: Biblioasis
Please log in to view pricing


Finding Again the World brings together a dozen of the best stories by John Metcalf, a modern master of the form. Spanning more than fifty years and ranging from some of his earliest published stories, such as "Dandelions" and "The Eastmill Reception Centre," to his latest, with "Ceazer Salad" and "The Museum at the End of the World," this current gathering shows a writer whose voice, at every stage of his career, is unmistakeable. These are elegant and brilliantly charged fictions, entertaining and moving and mischievous: taking the dross and straw of everyday life and transforming it, through some sort of alchemical process of sensibility, into art. With an introduction by Keath Fraser, Finding Again the World is a landmark collection, a sumptuous gathering of singular work: these are stories that will last.