Those Who Feel Nothing

Author(s): Peter Guttridge
Series: Brighton Series No: 5
Original Publish Date: Sep 01, 2014
Product Number: EB00737026
Released: Sep 27, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781780105451
Please log in to view pricing


A macabre discovery in Brighton has a link to Cambodia's Khmer Rouge in this "clever puzzle" from the author of the acclaimed Brighton Trilogy (Kirkus Reviews). After a disastrous mistake costs him his job as Chief Constable, Bob Watts is surprised to find himself elected to the role of Brighton's first police commissioner. But just as he returns to the public eye, Watts is hit with a shocking scandal involving the director of the Royal Pavilion. In the subsequent investigation, Det. Inspector Sarah Gilchrist and Det. Sergeant Bellamy Heap are perplexed by the discovery of looted antiquities from Cambodia's Angkor Wat in the tunnels beneath the Pavilion. Soon, the case leads to a murder victim along with the suspicious arrival of a survivor of Pol Pot's regime. In this "taut, richly detailed plot," Watts and Gilchrist must uncover the dark truth before the body count rises (Publishers Weekly). "Gritty and dark, the novel is certain to appeal to readers of the author's previous Brighton mysteries." —Booklist "The two cases merge in a startling denouement [and] Guttridge brings back several favorite characters from earlier installments." —Kirkus Reviews

Sign up for our email newsletter