Salad Anniversary

Product Number: EB00577506
Released: Jun 09, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781782271055
Publisher: Pushkin Press
Please log in to view pricing


Machi Tawara's first book of poems, The Anniversary of the Salad combines the classical 'tanka' form with the subject of a modern love affair. It became a sensation, selling over 2 million copies - and the 'salad phenomenon' in Japanese culture was comparable to the 'bananamania' that followed publication of the first novel by Tawara's contemporary Banana Yoshimoto. Contains 15 poems: 'August Morning' 'Baseball Game' 'Morning Necktie' 'I Am the Wind' 'Summertime Ship' 'Wake-up Call' 'Hashimoto High School' 'Pretending to Wait for Someone' 'Salad Anniversary' 'Twilight Alley' 'My Bisymmetrical Self' 'So, Good Luck' 'Jazz Concert' 'Backstreet Cat' 'Always American'

Author(s): Machi Tawara
Original Publish Date: Jun 09, 2015

Sign up for our email newsletter