Author(s): John Mortimer
Series: Rumpole Series No: 17
CD - unabridged
Audio (7 discs)
Product Number: DD30786
Released: Feb 01, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781785295171
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks
Please log in to view pricing


Maurice Denham stars as John Mortimer's famous comic creation Rumpole of the Bailey. Defender of the underdog, friend of South London villains and scourge of QCs, much-loved barrister Horace Rumpole was first brought to life on television, and in 1980 BBC Radio 4 introduced him to the airwaves for a 13-episode series. In these delightful full-cast courtroom dramas, the claret-drinking, poetry-quoting lawyer recalls his colourful career at the Old Bailey while being supported at home by the redoubtable Hilda ('She Who Must Be Obeyed'). From a disputed will case to a GP accused of murder, Rumpole must exercise all his talents as an advocate to fight for justice. Includes 'Rumpole and the Confession of Guilt', 'Rumpole and the Dear Departed', 'Rumpole and the Gentle Art of Blackmail', 'Rumpole and the Rotten Apple', 'Rumpole and the Man of God', 'Rumpole and the Defence of Guthrie Featherstone', 'Rumpole and the Show Folk', 'Rumpole and the Fascist Beast', 'Rumpole and the Case of Identity', 'Rumpole and the Expert Witness', 'Rumpole and the Course of True Love', 'Rumpole and the Perils of the Sea' and 'Rumpole and the Age for Retirement'. Among the supporting cast are Margot Boyd, Michael Maloney, Michael Elphick, Angela Thorne, Geoffrey Bayldon and Saeed Jaffrey.

All formats/editions

Author(s): John Mortimer
Narrator(s): Frederick Davidson
Product Number Z100096270
Released: Jun 21, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781481574419

Sign up for our email newsletter