Theatre as Witness

Author(s): Yael Farber
Original Publish Date: Sep 28, 2017
Product Number: EB00775860
Released: Oct 17, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781786823274
Publisher: Oberon Books
Please log in to view pricing


Yael Farber's trilogy of plays bears powerful testimony to the personal truths of those who lived through the brutal Apartheid regime in South Africa. Woman in Waiting tells of Thembi Mtshali's separation from her mother as a child, only to continue this legacy of waiting when forced to leave her own baby to mind other people's children in the white suburbs. Amajuba is a moving tapestry of different personal perspectives on growing up under Apartheid. He Left Quietly is the harrowing experience of Duma Kumalo, one of the wrongly accused Sharpeville Six, on South Africa's Death Row; preparations made for his death and ultimate reprieve.

Sign up for our email newsletter