House on Endless Waters

A Novel
x-large
Author(s): Emuna Elon
Original Publish Date: Jan 07, 2020
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (10.15 hours)
Product Number: Z100152597
Released: Jan 07, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781797102382
Narrator/s: Jonathan Davis
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"Elon powerfully evokes the obscurity of the past and its hold on the present, as we stumble through revelation after revelation with Yoel. As we accompany him on his journey...we share in his loss, surprise and grief, right up to the novel's shocking conclusion." —The New York Times Book Review "Emuna Elon's powerful House on Endless Waters is essential Jewish fictiona deeply immersive achievement that brings to life stories that must never be forgotten." —USA TODAY "A story of love, loss, and yearning. Lyrically phrased and often powerfully visualthis deeply felt tale offers a rewarding meditation on survival." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) In the tradition of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, comes an exquisitely moving novel about a writer who discovers the truth about his mother's wartime years in Amsterdam, unearthing a shocking family secret that becomes the subject of his magnum opus. At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to promote his books, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Historical Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon footage portraying prewar Dutch Jewry and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with his father, his older sisterand an infant he doesn't recognize. This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, shining a light on Amsterdam's dark wartime history—the underground networks that hid Jewish children away from danger and those who betrayed their own for the sake of survival. The deeper into the past Yoel digs to tell the story of his life, the better he understands his mother's silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime—Who am I?—becomes. Part family mystery, part wartime drama, House on Endless Waters is an unforgettable meditation on identity, belonging, and the inextricable nature of past and present.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Emuna Elon
Narrator(s): Jonathan Davis
Product Number DD48075
Released: Jan 07, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781797102405
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Emuna Elon
Product Number EB00761893
Released: Jan 07, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781982130244

Sign up for our email newsletter