A Bookshop in Berlin

The Rediscovered Memoir of One Woman's Harrowing Escape from the Nazis
CD - unabridged
Audio (5 discs)
Product Number: DD48361
Released: Dec 03, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781797105215
Narrator/s: Jilly Bond
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A PEOPLE BOOK OF THE WEEK WINNER OF THE JQ–WINGATE LITERARY PRIZE "A haunting tribute to survivors and those lost forever—and a reminder, in our own troubled era, never to forget." —People An "exceptional" (The Wall Street Journal) and "poignant" (The New York Times) book in the tradition of rediscovered works like Suite Francaise and The Nazi Officer's Wife, the powerful memoir of a fearless Jewish bookseller on a harrowing fight for survival across Nazi-occupied Europe. In 1921, Francoise Frenkel—a Jewish woman from Poland—fulfills a dream. She opens La Maison du Livre, Berlin's first French bookshop, attracting artists and diplomats, celebrities and poets. The shop becomes a haven for intellectual exchange as Nazi ideology begins to poison the culturally rich city. In 1935, the scene continues to darken. First come the new bureaucratic hurdles, followed by frequent police visits and book confiscations. Francoise's dream finally shatters on Kristallnacht in November 1938, as hundreds of Jewish shops and businesses are destroyed. La Maison du Livre is miraculously spared, but fear of persecution eventually forces Francoise on a desperate, lonely flight to Paris. When the city is bombed, she seeks refuge across southern France, witnessing countless horrors: children torn from their parents, mothers throwing themselves under buses. Secreted away from one safe house to the next, Francoise survives at the heroic hands of strangers risking their lives to protect her. Published quietly in 1945, then rediscovered nearly sixty years later in an attic, A Bookshop in Berlin is a remarkable story of survival and resilience, of human cruelty and human spirit. In the tradition of Suite Francaise and The Nazi Officer's Wife, this book is the tale of a fearless woman whose lust for life and literature refuses to leave her, even in her darkest hours.

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Narrator(s): Jilly Bond
Product Number Z100154148
Released: Dec 03, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781797105192
eBook
x-large
Product Number EB00763879
Released: Dec 03, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Atria Books
ISBN: #9781501199868