Bronte's Mistress

A Novel
eAudio - unabridged
Audio
Product Number: Z100156184
Released: Aug 11, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781797106878
Please log in to view pricing

Description

This dazzling debut novel for fans of Mrs. Poe and Longbourn explores the scandalous historical love affair between Branwell BrontE and Lydia Robinson, giving voice to the woman who allegedly corrupted her son's innocent tutor and brought down the entire BrontE family. Yorkshire, 1843: Lydia Robinson—mistress of Thorp Green Hall—has lost her precious young daughter and her mother within the same year. She returns to her bleak home, grief-stricken and unmoored. With her teenage daughters rebelling, her testy mother-in-law scrutinizing her every move, and her marriage grown cold, Lydia is restless and yearning for something more. All of that changes with the arrival of her son's tutor, Branwell BrontE, brother of her daughters' governess, Miss Anne BrontE and those other writerly sisters, Charlotte and Emily. Branwell has his own demons to contend with—including living up to the ideals of his intelligent family—but his presence is a breath of fresh air for Lydia. Handsome, passionate, and uninhibited by social conventions, he's also twenty-five to her forty-three. A love of poetry, music, and theatre bring mistress and tutor together, and Branwell's colorful tales of his sisters' elaborate play-acting and made-up worlds form the backdrop for seduction. But Lydia's new taste of passion comes with consequences. As Branwell's inner turmoil rises to the surface, his behavior grows erratic and dangerous, and whispers of their passionate relationship spout from her servants' lips, reaching all three protective BrontE sisters. Soon, it falls on Lydia to save not just her reputation, but her way of life, before those clever girls reveal all her secrets in their novels. Unfortunately, she might be too late. Meticulously researched and deliciously told, BrontE's Mistress is a captivating reimagining of the scandalous affair that has divided BrontE enthusiasts for generations and an illuminating portrait of a courageous, sharp-witted woman who fights to emerge with her dignity intact.

x-large
Author(s): Finola Austin
Original Publish Date: Aug 11, 2020

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Finola Austin
Product Number EB00778188
Released: Aug 04, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Atria Books
ISBN: #9781982137250

Sign up for our email newsletter