Pax Britannica

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (17.07 hours)
Product Number: Z100028328
Released: Jul 01, 2011
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781843794707
Narrator/s: Roy McMillan
Publisher: Naxos Audiobooks
Please log in to view pricing


The Pax Britannica trilogy is Jan Morris's masterly telling of the British Empire from the accession of Queen Victoria to the death of Winston Churchill. It is a towering achievement: informative, accessible, entertaining and written with all her usual bravura. Pax Britannica, the second volume, is a snapshot of the Empire at the Diamond Jubilee of 1897. It looks at what made up the Empire - from adventurers and politicians to communications and infrastructure, as well as anomalies and eccentricities. This humane overview also examines the muddle of jumbled ideologies behind it, and how they affected its 370 million people.

Author(s): Jan Morris
Genre: History
Original Publish Date: Jan 01, 1900

All formats/editions

Author(s): Jan Morris
Narrator(s): Roy McMillan
Genre: History
Product Number DD32723
Released: Sep 03, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781094014241

Sign up for our email newsletter