Red Plush & Trombones

The Lonely Trilogy - Rattle of Simple Man, Staircase, and Mother Adam
Author(s): Charles Dyer
Genre: Drama
Original Publish Date: Sep 24, 2012
Product Number: EB00775033
Released: Oct 15, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781849436762
Publisher: Oberon Books
Please log in to view pricing


Includes the plays Rattle, Mother Adam and Staircase Sir Harold Hobson (Sunday Times) coined the phrase The Lonely Trilogy to include Rattle (Garrick Theatre, 1962-3), Mother Adam (Arts Theatre, 1971) and Staircase (RSC, 1966-67), plays which have been in constant production throughout the years. Of the middle duologue, Hobson wrote: ‘In Mother Adam Dyer has written one of the few real tragedies of our time... It is more disturbing; it has deeper resonances; it is more beautifully written, with an imagination at once exotic and desperately familiar; it has a profounder pity, and a more exquisite falling Close.'The eminent American journalist Walter Winchell wrote of Dyer's ‘Profound thoughts and emotions expressed with humour... People in the shadows discovering sunshine in each other.'

Sign up for our email newsletter