Georgia Under Water

Stories
Product Number: EB00652609
Released: Mar 11, 2016
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781932511970
Publisher: Sarabande Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

This tale of a determined young girl and her dysfunctional Florida family is "perfect for fans of Lynda Barry" (Publishers Weekly, starred review). "This smart, edgy book of interconnected stories follows Georgia Jackson from her 12th year through her 15th. Someone in the family seems always to be running away from home. Her depressed mother tries driving the family car into the Atlantic; her charming, alcoholic father says mildly, as though quitting a job, 'I'm giving you my notice'; her younger brother and only friend goes off to live on a relative's farm. The protagonist has her own methods of escape: pretending to be drowning, dreaming of marriage to Oscar Love (a misfit with a 'port-wine stain in the shape of Florida' on his cheek), and thinking constantly of sex while admittedly having no clear idea of what it entails. What she does know a lot about is her parents' problems and spectacles. Though her unstable home life causes her some embarrassment and anger, Georgia is mostly happy, and this is what makes her wonderfully unique and honest. She isn't a stock character who either wallows in her troubles or keeps her chin up, smiling through the tears. She cries and screams freely when necessary, then gets back to the business of being curious about human behavior, enjoying her gifted-and-talented science class, picking her scabs, and flirting with grocery clerks . . . A memorable offering." -School Library Journal "A heroine buoyant in spirit and bitterly cheery . . . At fifteen I'd have run away with her, and even now it is easy to love her." -Padget Powell "Her story had me laughing through the lump in my throat." -Janet Burroway

x-large
Author(s): Heather Sellers
Original Publish Date: May 01, 2001

Sign up for our email newsletter