The Tubman Command

Author(s): Elizabeth Cobbs
Original Publish Date: May 21, 2019
Product Number: EB00750467
Released: May 21, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781948924351
Publisher: Arcade
Please log in to view pricing


If you loved the movie HARRIET <> you will love THE TUBMAN COMMAND! >From the bestselling author of The Hamilton Affair>, a novel based on a thrilling chapter of Civil War history and African American history, how Harriet Tubman lead a Union raid to free 750 slaves. It's May 1863. Outgeneraled and outgunned, a demoralized Union Army has pulled back with massive losses at the Battle of Chancellorsville. Fort Sumter, hated symbol of the Rebellion, taunts the American navy with its artillery and underwater mines. In Beaufort, South Carolina, one very special woman, code named Moses, is hatching a spectacular plan. Hunted by Confederates, revered by slaves, Harriet Tubman plots an expedition behind enemy lines to liberate hundreds of bondsmen and recruit them as soldiers. A bounty on her head, she has given up husband and home for the noblest cause: a nation of, by, and for the people. The Tubman Command> tells the story of Tubman at the height of her powers, when she devises the largest plantation raid of the Civil War. General David Hunter places her in charge of a team of black scouts even though skeptical of what one woman can accomplish. For her gamble to succeed, "Moses" must outwit alligators, overseers, slave catchers, sharpshooters, and even hostile Union soldiers to lead gunships up the Combahee River. Men stand in her way at every turn--though one reminds her that love shouldn't have to be the price of freedom. It's the perfect read before going to see the big new movie about Harriet Tubman, Harriet >(November 2019) starring Kasi Lemmons, Cynthia Erivo, and Janelle Monae.

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

Author(s): Elizabeth Cobbs
Narrator(s): Heidi Franklin
Product Number BN14452
Released: May 07, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
ISBN: #9781721385812