Football for a Buck

The Crazy Rise and Crazier Demise of the USFL
CD - unabridged
Audio (1 disc)
Product Number: DD39614
Released: Sep 11, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781974920587
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From a multiple New York Times bestselling author, the rollicking, outrageous, you-can't-make-this-up story of the USFL The United States Football League-known fondly to millions of sports fans as the USFL-was the last football league to not merely challenge the NFL, but cause its owners and executives to collectively shudder. It spanned three seasons, 1983-85. It secured multiple television deals. It drew millions of fans and launched the careers of legends. But then it died beneath the weight of a particularly egotistical and bombastic owner-a New York businessman named Donald J. Trump. The league featured as many as 18 teams, and included such superstars as Steve Young, Jim Kelly, Herschel Walker, Reggie White, Doug Flutie and Mike Rozier. In Football for a Buck, the dogged reporter and biographer Jeff Pearlman draws on more than four hundred interviews to unearth all the salty, untold stories of one of the craziest sports entities to have ever captivated America. From 1980s drug excess to airplane brawls and player-coach punch outs, to backroom business deals, to some of the most enthralling and revolutionary football ever seen, Pearlman transports readers back in time to this crazy, boozy, audacious, unforgettable era of the game. He shows how fortunes were made and lost on the backs of professional athletes and also how, thirty years ago, Trump was a scoundrel and a spoiler. For fans of Terry Pluto's Loose Balls or Jim Bouton's Ball Four and of course Pearlman's own stranger-than-fiction narratives, FOOTBALL FOR A BUCK is sports as high entertainment-and a cautionary tale of the dangers of ego and excess.

x-large
Author(s): Jeff Pearlman
Genre: Sports
Awards:New York Times Bestseller

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Football for a Buck
Product Number: BX00095293
Product Number:DD39614
Product Number:Z100109214

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Jeff Pearlman
Narrator(s): Joel Richards
Genre: Sports
Product Number Z100109214
Released: Sep 14, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781974920600
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Jeff Pearlman
Product Number EB00718828
Released: Sep 11, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780544453685

Sign up for our email newsletter