Like Family

Growing Up in Other People's Houses, a Memoir
CD - unabridged
Audio (8 discs)
Product Number: DD38190
Released: Apr 03, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781977309280
Narrator/s: Wendy Tremont King
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
Please log in to view pricing

Description

This powerful and haunting memoir details the years Paula McLain and her two sisters spent as foster children after being abandoned by both parents in California in the early 1970s. As wards of the State, the sisters spent the next fourteen years moving from foster home to foster home. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of one of the most compelling memoirs in recent years-a book in the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's The Boys of My Youth and Mary Karr's The Liars' Club. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Like Family
Product Number: BX00072207
Product Number:Z100137031
Product Number:DD38190

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Paula McLain
Narrator(s): Wendy Tremont King
Product Number Z100137031
Released: Apr 03, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
ISBN: #9781977329288
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Paula McLain
Product Number EB00277138
Released: Apr 10, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Back Bay Books
ISBN: #9780316163477

Sign up for our email newsletter