Yamas & Niyamas

Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (4.30 hours)
Product Number: Z100132643
Released: Feb 27, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781977323552
Narrator/s: Laura Jennings
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
Please log in to view pricing


The first two limbs of the eight-fold path of yoga sutras-the basic text for classical yoga-are examined in this spiritual guide to the practice of yoga. Foundational to all yogic thought, they are considered to be the guidelines to the yoga way of living that free individuals to take ownership of their lives, direct them toward the fulfillment they seek, and gain the skills to choose attitude, thought, and action. The first five guidelines are referred to as the yamas-a Sanskrit word that translates to "restraints"-and encompass nonviolence, truthfulness, not stealing, nonexcess, and nonpossessiveness. The last five are referred to as the niyamas, or observances-purity, contentment, self-discipline, self-study, and surrender.

Author(s): Deborah Adele
Original Publish Date: Feb 27, 2018

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

RBdigital Unlimited Access Audio Subscription - Tantor titles #2
RBdigital Unlimited Canada Audio Subscription - Tantor titles #2
RBdigital Corporate Unlimited Audiobooks

You can find this title in the following lists:

Sign up for our email newsletter