Like Family

Growing Up in Other People's Houses, a Memoir
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (9.35 hours)
Product Number: Z100137031
Released: Apr 03, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781977329288
Narrator/s: Wendy Tremont King
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
Please log in to view pricing

Description

This powerful and haunting memoir details the years Paula McLain and her two sisters spent as foster children after being abandoned by both parents in California in the early 1970s. As wards of the State, the sisters spent the next fourteen years moving from foster home to foster home. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of one of the most compelling memoirs in recent years-a book in the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's The Boys of My Youth and Mary Karr's The Liars' Club. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.

x-large
Author(s): Paula McLain
Original Publish Date: Apr 03, 2018

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Like Family
Product Number: BX00072207
Product Number:Z100137031
Product Number:DD38190

This title is part of (or scheduled to be part of) the following subscriptions:

RBdigital Unlimited Access Audio Subscription
RBdigital Unlimited Canada Audio Subscription
RBdigital Audio Curriculum for Higher Education - Platinum Collection

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Paula McLain
Narrator(s): Wendy Tremont King
Product Number DD38190
Released: Apr 03, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
ISBN: #9781977309280
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Paula McLain
Product Number EB00277138
Released: Apr 10, 2014
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Back Bay Books
ISBN: #9780316163477

Sign up for our email newsletter