Lament

The Faerie Queen's Deception
CD - unabridged
Audio (7 discs)
Product Number: BN13641
Released: Aug 28, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781978616592
Narrator/s: Carly Robins
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Please log in to view pricing

Description

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING NOVEL SHIVER Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She''s about to find out she''s also a cloverhand-one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass-a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky-and equally dangerous-dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen''s sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren''t so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn''t exactly what she had in mind . . . Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore. "Vibrant and potent, YA readers searching for faerie stories will be happy to find this accomplished debut novel." -Publishers Weekly (starred review) "This beautiful and out-of-the-ordinary debut novel, with its authentic depiction of Celtic Faerie lore and dangerous forbidden love in a contemporary American setting, will appeal to readers of Nancy Werlin''s Impossible and Stephenie Meyer''s Twilight series." -Booklist (starred review) "Part adventure, part fantasy, and wholly riveting love story, Lament will delight nearly all audiences with its skillful blend of magic and ordinary life." -KLIATT (starred review)

x-large
Author(s): Maggie Stiefvater
Series: Books of Faerie Series No: 1

All formats/editions

eBook
x-large
Author(s): Maggie Stiefvater
Series:
Product Number EB00712173
Released: Sep 21, 2017
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: Flux
ISBN: #9780738722290

Professional reviews

"Carly Robins narrates the tale of Deirdre Monaghan, a teenage musical prodigy who learns she possesses other fantastical capabilities, such as telekinesis and the second sight (the ability to see faeries). When Deirdre and Luke, the assassin sent to kill her, fall in love, they must fight the fae queen in order to save Deirdre's loved ones--and each other. Robins delivers their tale using a variety of lilting Irish voices for the faerie folk who arrive in Deirdre's suburban Virginia town. The decision to read, rather than sing, the lyrics of the old Celtic songs that are part of the story is a missed opportunity that weakens the audio experience. A.L.S.M. © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter