Black Shack Alley

eAudio - unabridged
Audio (9.63 hours)
Product Number: Z16069
Released: Aug 01, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781980060703
Narrator/s: Ron Butler
Please log in to view pricing

Description

The semi-autobiographical, Caribbean novel that explores shifting race relations in early twentieth-century colonial Martinique, with a foreword by Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau A Penguin Classic Following in the tradition of Richard Wright's Black Boy, Joseph Zobel's semi-autobiographical 1950 novel Black Shack Alley chronicles the coming-of-age of José, a young boy grappling with issues of power and identity in colonial Martinique. As José transitions from childhood to young adulthood and from rural plantations to urban Fort-de-France on a quest for upward mobility, he bears witness to and struggles against the various manifestations of white supremacy, both subtle and overt, that will alter the course of his life. His ally in this struggle is his grandmother, M'man Tine, who fights her own weariness to release at least one child from the plantation village, a dirt street lined with the shacks of sugarcane workers. Zobel's masterpiece, the basis for the award-winning film Sugar Cane Alley, is a powerful testament to twentieth-century life in Martinique, with a foreword by award-winning Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau.

Bundle:

Please login to view pricing, or register now
Black Shack Alley
Product Number: BX00133943
Product Number:C06046
Product Number:Z16069

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Joseph Zobel
Narrator(s): Ron Butler
Product Number C06046
Released: Jul 30, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781980060536
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Joseph Zobel
Product Number EB00773399
Released: May 12, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Penguin Classics
ISBN: #9780525505730