Going Dutch

A Novel
Product Number: EB00746591
Released: Aug 20, 2019
Business Term: 1 Year
ISBN: #9781982103217
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A sly and humorous portrait of modern relationships and an urban comedy of manners in the vein of The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P, James Gregor's Going Dutch finds a struggling gay male graduate student in an unexpected-yet stirring-relationship with his brilliant female classmate. Exhausted by dead-end forays in the gay dating scene, surrounded constantly by friends but deeply lonely in New York City, and drifting into academic abyss, twenty-something graduate student Richard has plenty of sources of anxiety. But at the forefront is his crippling writer's block, which threatens daily to derail his graduate funding and leave Richard poor, directionless, and desperately single. Enter Anne: his brilliant classmate who offers to "help" Richard write his papers in exchange for his company, despite Richard's fairly obvious sexual orientation. Still, he needs her help, and it doesn't hurt that Anne has folded Richard into her abundant lifestyle. What begins as an initially transactional relationship blooms gradually into something more complex. But then a one-swipe-stand with an attractive, successful lawyer named Blake becomes serious, and Richard suddenly finds himself unable to detach from Anne, entangled in her web of privilege, brilliance, and, oddly, her unabashed acceptance of Richard's flaws. As the two relationships reach points of serious commitment, Richard soon finds himself on a romantic and existential collision course-one that brings about surprising revelations. Going Dutch is an incisive portrait of relationships in an age of digital romantic abundance, but it's also a heartfelt and humorous exploration of love and sexuality, and a poignant meditation on the things emotionally ravenous people seek from and do to each other. James Gregor announces himself with levity, and a fresh, exciting voice in his debut.

x-large
Author(s): James Gregor
Original Publish Date: Aug 20, 2019

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): James Gregor
Product Number Z100146565
Released: Aug 20, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781508294122

Sign up for our email newsletter