Things in Jars

A Novel
Product Number: EB00761866
Released: Feb 04, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781982121303
Publisher: Atria Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery-perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation. Bridie Devine-female detective extraordinaire-is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery. Winding her way through the labyrinthine, sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won't rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing a past that she'd rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is quite what it seems. Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.

x-large
Author(s): Jess Kidd
Original Publish Date: Feb 04, 2020

All formats/editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Jess Kidd
Product Number Z100152564
Released: Feb 04, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781508299479

Sign up for our email newsletter