Survival of the Thickest

Product Number: EB00778159
Released: Aug 04, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781982122607
Publisher: Gallery Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

From the stand-up comedian, actress, and podcast host beloved for her cheeky swagger, charismatic presence, and unapologetic frankness, comes a book of comedic essays for readers of The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl and You Can't Touch My Hair. If you've watched television or movies in the past year, you've seen Michelle Buteau. With scene-stealing roles in Always Be My Maybe, First Wives Club, Someone Great, Russian Doll, and Tales of the City; a breakthrough stand-up special on Netflix and two podcasts (Late Night Whenever and Adulting), Michelle's star is on the rise. You'd be forgiven for thinking the road to success—or adulthood or financial stability or self-acceptance or marriage or motherhood—has been easy; but you'd be wrong. Now, in Survival of the Thickest, Michelle reflects on growing up Caribbean and thick in New Jersey and what it feels like to have a full heart, tight jeans, and stardom finally in sight.

x-large
Author(s): Unknown
Original Publish Date: Aug 04, 2020

Sign up for our email newsletter