The Light after the War

A Novel
x-large
Author(s): Anita Abriel
Original Publish Date: Feb 04, 2020
Product Number: EB00761870
Released: Feb 04, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781982122997
Publisher: Atria Books
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Inspired by an incredible true story of two Jewish friends who survived the Holocaust, this sweeping novel of love and friendship spans World War II from Budapest to Austria and the postwar years from Naples to Caracas, perfect for fans of The German Girl and We Were the Lucky Ones. It is 1946 when Vera Frankel and her best friend Edith Ban arrive in Naples. Refugees from Hungary, they managed to escape from a train headed for Auschwitz and spent the rest of the war hiding on an Austrian farm. Now, the two young women must start new lives abroad. Armed with a letter of recommendation from an American officer, Vera finds work at the United States embassy where she falls in love with Captain Anton Wight. But as Vera and Edith grapple with the aftermath of the war, so too does Anton, and when he suddenly disappears, Vera is forced to change course. Their quest for a better life takes Vera and Edith from Naples to Ellis Island to Caracas as they start careers, reunite with old friends, and rebuild their lives after terrible loss. Moving, evocative, and compelling, this timely tale of true friendship, love, and survival will stay with you long after you turn the final page.

You can find this title in the following lists:

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Anita Abriel
Narrator(s): Jesse Vilinsky
Product Number DD48841
Released: Feb 04, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781797102214
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Anita Abriel
Narrator(s): Jesse Vilinsky
Product Number Z100152594
Released: Feb 04, 2020
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781797102191

Sign up for our email newsletter