Letters Across the Sea

x-large
Author(s): Genevieve Graham
Original Publish Date: Apr 27, 2021
Product Number: EB00827092
Released: Apr 27, 2021
Business Term: 2 Year
ISBN: #9781982156640
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Inspired by a little-known chapter of World War II history, a young Protestant girl and her Jewish neighbour are caught up in the terrible wave of hate sweeping the globe on the eve of war in this powerful love story from the #1 bestselling author of The Forgotten Home Child. I'm writing to say goodbye With all my love, M Summer 1933 At eighteen, Molly Ryan feels as though she is always looking for work to help her family through the Great Depression crippling her city. The one bright spot in her life is playing baseball with her best friend, Hannah Dreyfus, and sneaking glances at Hannah's handsome older brother, Max. Molly knows that her Irish Protestant parents disapprove of her spending so much time with their Jewish neighbours, and she also sees the signs that say "No Jews Allowed" outside Toronto's stores and parks. But unlike many of the city's residents, Molly doesn't blame Hannah and Max for the mass unemployment and unrest—they're her beloved childhood friends. As more of Hitler's hateful ideas cross the sea, tensions between the two families and their communities rise, spilling over one smouldering day in August when a local "Swastika Club" unfurls a huge white banner bearing the Nazi symbol at a baseball game. A riot erupts, throwing Molly and Max together and sparking a secret they must keep from everyone they love. When Max enlists to fight overseas, their love is put to the ultimate test, the letters between them a tenuous bond. By war's end, both of their families will be scarred by painful betrayal as devastating truths come to light. Perfect for readers of The Daughter's Tale and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Letters Across the Sea is a poignant novel about the enduring power of love to cross dangerous divides even in the darkest of times.