Island of a Thousand Springs

CD - unabridged
Audio (15 discs)
Product Number: DD39398
Released: Nov 06, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781982560256
Narrator/s: Anne Flosnik
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A gripping tale of love and hate, trust and betrayal, and a thrilling destiny set against the pristine beaches and swaying palm trees of the tropicsLondon, 1732: Nora Reed, the daughter of a merchant, falls hopelessly in love with her father’s clerk, Simon. Despite their differing social class, the star-crossed lovers dream of a future on a tropical island—until tragedy strikes, and Nora must face a life without her soulmate. Hopeless, Nora enters a marriage of convenience with Elias Fortnam, a widower and sugar planter in Jamaica. Even without Simon, she is determined to somehow fulfill their tropical fantasy. But life in the Caribbean doesn’t turn out as Nora had dreamt.Nora is deeply shocked by the way plantation owners treat the slaves and decides to shake things up on her own sugar cane plantation—for the better. Surprisingly, her adult stepson Doug supports her in this endeavor when he arrives from Europe. However, his return also puts things into a state of turmoil—especially Nora’s feelings.Just as Nora seems to be settling into her role as lady of the house, one harrowing event rips everything from her but her life …For fans of Kathleen Grissom’s The Kitchen House, Alex Haley’s Roots: The Saga of an American Family, and Sue Monk Kidd’s The Invention of Wings

x-large
Author(s): Sarah Lark

Sign up for our email newsletter