Spying on the South

An Odyssey Across the American Divide
x-large
Author(s): Tony Horwitz
Awards:New York Times Bestseller
Original Publish Date: May 14, 2019
eAudio - unabridged
Audio (17.18 hours)
Product Number: Z100143677
Released: May 14, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781984888662
Publisher: Books on Tape
Please log in to view pricing

Description

The New York Times-bestselling final book by the beloved, Pulitzer-Prize winning historian Tony Horwitz. With Spying on the South, the best-selling author of Confederates in the Attic returns to the South and the Civil War era for an epic adventure on the trail of America's greatest landscape architect. In the 1850s, the young Frederick Law Olmsted was adrift, a restless farmer and dreamer in search of a mission. He found it during an extraordinary journey, as an undercover correspondent in the South for the up-and-coming New York Times. For the Connecticut Yankee, pen name "Yeoman," the South was alien, often hostile territory. Yet Olmsted traveled for 14 months, by horseback, steamboat, and stagecoach, seeking dialogue and common ground. His vivid dispatches about the lives and beliefs of Southerners were revelatory for readers of his day, and Yeoman's remarkable trek also reshaped the American landscape, as Olmsted sought to reform his own society by creating democratic spaces for the uplift of all. The result: Central Park and Olmsted's career as America's first and foremost landscape architect. Tony Horwitz rediscovers Yeoman Olmsted amidst the discord and polarization of our own time. Is America still one country? In search of answers, and his own adventures, Horwitz follows Olmsted's tracks and often his mode of transport (including muleback): through Appalachia, down the Mississippi River, into bayou Louisiana, and across Texas to the contested Mexican borderland. Venturing far off beaten paths, Horwitz uncovers bracing vestiges and strange new mutations of the Cotton Kingdom. Horwitz's intrepid and often hilarious journey through an outsized American landscape is a masterpiece in the tradition of Great Plains, Bad Land, and the author's own classic, Confederates in the Attic.

All formats/editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Tony Horwitz
Product Number DD43860
Released: May 14, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: PENGUIN AUDIO
ISBN: #9781984888648
eBook
x-large
Author(s): Tony Horwitz
Product Number EB00736067
Released: May 14, 2019
Business Term: 2 Year
Publisher: Penguin Books
ISBN: #9781101980293

Professional reviews

"This literary road trip translates well to audio, as it relies heavily on description and anecdote. The twin travelogue recounts Frederick Law Olmsted's journey through the pre-Civil War South and writer Tony Horwitz's 21st-century attempt to re-create that journey. At the time, Olmstead was working as a journalist for the NEW YORK TIMES. Mark Deakins offers an engaging narration. His conversational tone and pacing suit the material well, and he hints at regional dialects just enough to set those speakers apart. He captures Olmsted's and Horwitz's wonder at America's natural beauty. He also renders Horwitz's sense of humor as he describes some of the oddities he encounters and voices his disappointment at finding vestiges of the prewar South in the current day. R.C.G. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine"

Sign up for our email newsletter